Capital Region Economic Development Organizations Join Forces with a Focus on Collaboration, Cooperation, and Inclusion

Published Monday, April 6, 2020

*This release is in partnership with economic development organizations from Anne Arundel, Frederick, Howard, Montgomery, and Prince George’s Counties.

For Immediate Release
News Release # 2020-049

The Charles County Economic Development Department has joined with economic development organizations from Anne Arundel, Frederick, Howard, Montgomery, and Prince George’s Counties in signing the “Joint Statement on Regional Collaboration among Maryland Capital Region Local Economic Development Organizations” to outline their collective commitment to growing a stronger Maryland Capital Region. 

The genesis for the joint statement began in October 2019 when the six Capital Region Economic Development Organizations began meeting to discuss economic development issues of mutual concern to their 3.3 million citizens, representing more than 52 percent of the Maryland economy.  While the COVID-19 crisis sweeping the nation has created an greater urgency for regional collaboration, the Joint Statement is an agreement to:  explore joint marketing and promotion; establish shared rules for ethical marketing; formalize protocols for communications with regard to business prospects; evaluate policy changes to address competitiveness; evaluate the joint pursuit of targeted industry sectors; and engage other regional economic development partners. 

The six organizations have been teleconferencing weekly since the onslaught of the COVID -19 crisis and have engaged in a strong exchange of shared experiences, issues, resources, best practices, and challenges.  Along with federal and state resources, the six economic development organizations are working collectively to create regional solutions to the economic recovery of the Capital region, a commitment reflected in the addition of language referring to cooperation in addressing emergencies such as COVID-19. 

The signing of this Joint Statement, which took place on Wednesday, April 1,  via teleconference because of the COVID-19 crisis, moves the gathering of the six county economic development organizations to a new level of regional cooperation and collaboration.  

“This Joint Statement was created to strengthen the competitive position of Maryland’s capital area jurisdictions by working together to leverage our shared and complementary business advantages,” said Darréll Brown, Director of Charles County’s Economic Development Department.  “The collaboration that has taken place these last few weeks during the COVID-19 crisis demonstrates the value of this partnership, and we look forward to working with the Maryland Capital Region jurisdictions to rebuild and grow our economy when the crisis has passed.”

The Joint Statement was signed by:

Jill Seamon, Anne Arundel County Economic Development Corporation
Darrell Brown, Charles County EDC
Helen Propheter, Frederick County EDC
Larry Twele, Howard County EDC
Ben Wu, Montgomery County EDC
David S. Iannucci, Prince George’s County EDC

Citizens with special needs may contact the Maryland Relay Service at 711, or Relay Service TDD:  800-735-2258.


For media inquiries, email  

Views from Charles

Upcoming Events


Subscribe to our E-News